There are absolutely no lows on David Bowie’s masterpiece “Low”

The influential album was released on this day in 1977

There are absolutely no lows on David Bowie’s masterpiece “Low”

Released on January 14th, 1977, the first album of the famous “Berlin Trilogy”, “Low” was at the date the most experimental and “avant garde” of all Bowie’s album. Featuring a full instrumental side, filled with dark ambiance synthesizers, it was a reflection of his state of mind at the time. Having escaped Los Angeles back to Europe, he exiled in cold and gray Berlin with friend Iggy Pop for both to overcome their increasing and uncontrolled drug habit. Although “Low” was not fully recorded in Berlin, like “Heroes” was, the result of those days was 3 perfect synchronized albums, symbolizing Bowie’s most creative period. This was also his first experiment with electronic music, the fusion between Rock and Electronic produced songs such as “Speed Of Life”, “Sound And Vision” or “Be My Wife”. The Side B of the record is fully instrumental with memorable cuts such as “Warszawa” , “Art Decade”, and the electronic ambient track of “Subterraneans”. “Low” revolutionized music and to this day it sounds fresh and as influential as it was back then, maybe even more. This was one of the absolute moments where Bowie was all alone ahead of the game and everyone else, a perfect album by a perfect artist. There are no lows on “Low”, it is pure and unique music in an elegant aesthetic so seldom seen.

Side 1
1 “Speed of Life”
2 “Breaking Glass” (Bowie, Dennis Davis, George Murray)
3 “What in the World”
4 “Sound and Vision”
5 “Always Crashing in the Same Car”
6 “Be My Wife”
7 “A New Career in a New Town”

Side 2
8 “Warszawa” (Bowie, Brian Eno)
9 “Art Decade”
10 “Weeping Wall”
11 “Subterraneans”

All lyrics written by David Bowie; all music composed by David Bowie except where noted.

David Bowie: vocals (2–6, 8, 10–12, 14), saxophones (4, 11), guitar (6, 9–11), pump bass (6), harmonica (7), vibraphone (9–10), xylophone (10), pre-arranged percussion (10), keyboards: ARP synthesiser (1, 10–11), Chamberlin: Credited on the album sleeve notes as “tape horn and brass” (1), “synthetic strings” (1, 4, 9–10), “tape cellos” (5) and “tape sax section” (7), piano (7, 9–11), “instruments” (13)
Brian Eno: keyboards: Minimoog (2, 8–9), ARP (3, 11), EMS Synthi AKS (listed as “E.M.I.”) (3, 5), piano (7–9, 11), Chamberlin (8–9), other synthesisers, vocals (4, 14), guitar treatments (5), synthetics (7), “instruments” (12–13)
Carlos Alomar: rhythm guitars (1, 3–7, 14), guitar (2)
Dennis Davis: percussion (1–7, 14)
George Murray: bass (1–7, 11, 14)
Ricky Gardiner: rhythm guitar (2), guitar (3–7, 14)
Roy Young: pianos (1, 3–7, 14), Farfisa organ (3, 5)
Iggy Pop: backing vocals (3)

Produced by: Tony Visconti and David Bowie
Recorded during: September–October 1976 (except “Subterraneans”, originally recorded December 1975 at Château d’Hérouville (Hérouville, France), Hansa Studio by the Wall (West Berlin, Germany), Cherokee Studios, Los Angeles
Released: January 14th, 1977
Label: RCA

“Sound and Vision” b/w “A New Career in a New Town” Released: 11 February 1977
“Be My Wife” b/w “Speed of Life” Released: 17 June 1977
“Breaking Glass ” b/w “Art Decade” Released: November 1978 (Australia only)[8]

Strongest tracks:

Watch the 1977 David Bowie music video for “Be My Wife”

Listen to “Low” on Spotify

Watch David Bowie related videos


Suggest a correction

Images and photographs can be from different ranges of sources such as Pinterest, Tumblr etc. except when/where noted. If you are the copyright holder and would like them removed or credited, please get in touch.